Posted in Skin Poetry

See Me

See me, see who I am.
Not what I was but what I can be.

And the beat of your heart steeps me in love. It’s the love that never dies, never lies, no compromise, I’m not tied to you but I hold onto you. Because I want to.

Because you see me, see what I can be and my life doesn’t mystify or make you turn your face away from me.

In reality, you chose me, you looked at me and saw me. You saw beauty, beauty behind the insanity, selfish ambition me, saw the whole and the breadth and the unique me.
You saw me and you said “You mean everything to me. Even more than that, you are gorgeous, your smile lights my heart up, makes me hold you close, wrap you in my arms for eternity.  And even eternity with you would be too short because I am absolutely, head over heels, foot poppingly in love with you.

You saw me. You saw me.

You. Saw. Me.

When I first heard what you thought, when you saw past the dirt, the dust, the stuff that I can hide from everyone else. You saw all that and still, and still the words tripped from your mouth. No, not tripped. They poured, like honey, like wine, like a river of chocolate; not sickly sweet or cloying, but they flowed and ebbed at my feet.

I knelt down, embarrassed, trying to hide.

You couldn’t mean it, the words you said messed with my head but instead of being condescending with tender hands you lifted me. The thought struck me- why me- why hold my hands when all the land was full to the brim of more nobler kind, the people who made it their aim to live like saints with no seeming taint to marr their skin. I’m not akin to them, in fact we couldn’t be more further apart; their start in life set them where they are now; how could I be like them.
No, you said, that’s not how it works, not how I work. No-one, however hard they try, will ever come close to who you are.

You saw me.

You see me.

You love me.

Author:

There's always stuff in life we're not sure of. I'm thankful , and eternally grateful, to have a love for God. Yes, I've put my life, my family, my everyday existence, into God's more than capable hands. Some would say I'm mad, some would pooh pooh the idea... As General Melchett once remarked in Blackadder Goes Forth.."You know, if there's one thing I've learnt from being in the Army, it's never ignore a pooh-pooh. I knew a Major, who got pooh-poohed, made the mistake of ignoring the pooh-pooh. He pooh-poohed it! Fatal error! 'Cos it turned out all along that the soldier who pooh-poohed him had been pooh-poohing a lot of other officers who pooh-poohed their pooh-poohs. In the end, we had to disband the regiment. Morale totally destroyed... by pooh-pooh!" So, have a read, have a think. I don't have all the answers, but I know a man who has ;-)

Leave a Reply

