Posted in Daily Prompt

Dilemna

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/dilemma/

A tricky question makes my mind tick tock tick tock.  I want to change, be different but then my self-destruct button gets pushed and I think “one more won’t help.  What can it do to me,”

My dilemma, like so many women young and old. Do I do life my way or do I listen to every scaremongering tale, be made to feel inadequate because I’m not size 6. Seriously, my shoe size is bigger than so many waistlines.

We’re caught in this constant tap tapping away at our self image with damage to who we are; they push too far, then they wonder why we’re up in arms, they say no harm has been done.

Juice, 5:2, low fibre, high fibre, no carbs and so the list goes on, so much longer than my arm. The struggle, the tussle of every day to find a way not to eat our way out of house and home.

There’s no dilemma on their part as they pull at our heart, our soul, to make us aim for that goal to make everyone look the same, to gain full control of our minds with their games.

Don’t get me wrong, I know the ball’s in my court, my retort is one of saying ” don’t marginalise us by our size, don’t fob us off , don’t make us feel guilty when we’re empty, when we’re hungry. Instead, boost our confidence, don’t dent our personalities with trivialities.

Yes, sometimes my willpower slips and I dip into the newly opened biscuit packet, trying not to make a racket, make sure I’m not heard.

But, surprisingly you’ve solved my dilemna for me; I’m full of individuality and you won’t hold me down.

 

Author:

There's always stuff in life we're not sure of. I'm thankful , and eternally grateful, to have a love for God. Yes, I've put my life, my family, my everyday existence, into God's more than capable hands. Some would say I'm mad, some would pooh pooh the idea... As General Melchett once remarked in Blackadder Goes Forth.."You know, if there's one thing I've learnt from being in the Army, it's never ignore a pooh-pooh. I knew a Major, who got pooh-poohed, made the mistake of ignoring the pooh-pooh. He pooh-poohed it! Fatal error! 'Cos it turned out all along that the soldier who pooh-poohed him had been pooh-poohing a lot of other officers who pooh-poohed their pooh-poohs. In the end, we had to disband the regiment. Morale totally destroyed... by pooh-pooh!" So, have a read, have a think. I don't have all the answers, but I know a man who has ;-)

One thought on “Dilemna

  1. Sir Winston says that a key recipe to many situations in life is to just be oneself and to believe in oneself. Mr Midnight adds that embracing ones individuality is also a key to success and a balanced life. I apologise for my two furry friends´”wisdom”. Cats think they know everything!
    Best regards from the blog “Gilmours Nice Place” and if it does you good, dive into that packet of biscuits and ENJOY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

