Posted in Uncategorized

Words and promises

You say that you’re for me, but how far would you go

To show me you’re serious, to show me that you mean business?

Give it all up? No way, you couldn’t do that

Why? Because it’s all to precious to you

And you wouldn’t understand my life, even if I explained it to you.

You wouldn’t want to know, you’d find a way to make it better with

Pie crust promises and empty meanings.

Who do you speak for? Not me, that’s for sure

With you “Let’s do this together”

Really? Honestly? Hand on heart?

No, fingers crossed behind your back instead.

And I can’t bear it, knowing the pain that will be felt

Long after this day has drawn to a close.

Anguish, heartache, a sense of utter loss,

The feeling of contempt levied at anyone who doesn’t agree

With what is said or done, because they “don’t understand”

When it’s “all for the greater good”

Well, I, for one, am saddened, am lost for words

When you have plenty to throw about.

You have a lot to prove; your actions will speak louder than your words

And, if this democratic nation of ours truly believes

That this is the only way, I cannot argue with them

But will say I’ll wait and see what changes come.

For now, I cannot hear it again and again

Like sour milk in my coffee, I shudder.

There’s only so much sour milk I’ll be able to drink…

empty promisesEmpty-Promises

Author:

There's always stuff in life we're not sure of. I'm thankful , and eternally grateful, to have a love for God. Yes, I've put my life, my family, my everyday existence, into God's more than capable hands. Some would say I'm mad, some would pooh pooh the idea... As General Melchett once remarked in Blackadder Goes Forth.."You know, if there's one thing I've learnt from being in the Army, it's never ignore a pooh-pooh. I knew a Major, who got pooh-poohed, made the mistake of ignoring the pooh-pooh. He pooh-poohed it! Fatal error! 'Cos it turned out all along that the soldier who pooh-poohed him had been pooh-poohing a lot of other officers who pooh-poohed their pooh-poohs. In the end, we had to disband the regiment. Morale totally destroyed... by pooh-pooh!" So, have a read, have a think. I don't have all the answers, but I know a man who has ;-)

Leave a Reply

